top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaitlyn Hutabarat

Warm Smiles from Cengkareng and Kebon Jahe

Updated: Aug 31, 2020

Date: Wednesday, 22 July 2020

Distribution area: Cengkareng and Kebon Jahe


I believe that I am speaking for my teammates when I say that this batch is the most challenging one. Due to some problems, we were unable to deliver our food boxes the Sunday before. Our first option was to reschedule the distribution to the coming Sunday, but we'd be risking the quality of the purchased raw materials.


After compromising, we decided to do it on the following Wednesday albeit it being a school day. Janice and Calista started cooking on Tuesday after school in order to send their share of materials to my house by nighttime. As for Jordan and I respectively, we had to cook rice and assemble food boxes in between classes. Honestly, I’m quite glad that I had someone to help me cook all 150 cuts of chicken because I wouldn’t have been able to juggle all that work while attending classes.


Because most of the food is already at my house from the night before, the process of assembling was so much quicker than usual. I think our team learned a thing or two about strategising our workflow.


The car arrived at Cengkareng before 3 p.m., giving us plenty of time to distribute the food boxes before dinner. Looking at the people living within the area, I felt as if I entered a new world without a pandemic. With little to no masks in sight, I truly wondered as to how they are attempting to keep themselves healthy. I surmised that the lack of personal protective gear is due to their low income and perhaps a lack of thorough knowledge. Seeing the stark difference between their community and the one I am in, I realise just how impacted they are by these new circumstances.


Our team works hard to continue alleviating the burdens of these people, step by step. Seeing smiles on the faces of the people we have helped gives us joy like no other!


We are eternally grateful for everyone who has assisted us in our journey. From giving us the connection to people in impoverished areas to helping us cook our meals, none of your support goes unnoticed.


Written by: Caitlyn Hutabarat




For more updates about our future batches and collaborations, follow us on Instagram @foodfortheheartglobal



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page